Cowboys offensive pass interference call, explained: Why Jake Ferguson was penalized on crucial third down vs. Lions originally appeared on The Sporting News. Add The Sporting News as a Preferred Source by clicking here.
The Dallas Cowboys lost to the Detroit Lions in Week 14's "Thursday Night Football" game. The Cowboys trailed most of the game but kept it close throughout.
AdvertisementAdvertisementAdvertisementDallas was driving late in the fourth quarter with the chance to cut the Detroit lead to three. The Cowboys were in the redzone and quarterback Dak Prescott was trying to target his tight end in the end zone. It looked like there was contact between TE Jake Ferguson and the Detroit defenders, and a flag came out.
After a brief discussion, the officiating crew announced a penalty, but it was for offensive pass interference on Ferguson. The broadcast was stunned that the call went that way. The penalty backed Dallas up, and the Cowboys elected to kick a field goal rather than go for a touchdown on fourth down, putting the game in the hands of their defense.
The defense gave up a touchdown, and the Cowboys lost the game. While Dallas was trailing and down star wide receiver CeeDee Lamb, it felt like the wind left the Cowboys' sails when the call didn't go their way.
Here is more on why Ferguson was called for OPI late against the Lions.
AdvertisementAdvertisementAdvertisementMORE WEEK 14 NFL:
NFL power rankings for Week 14
NFL Week 14 picks, predictions
NFL Week 14 picks against the spread
Cowboys offensive pass interference call, explained
When the play happened, it looked like Detroit linebacker Alex Anzalone came into contact with Ferguson and that is what drew out the flag. Upon further review, the Dallas tight end did a swim move to get past Anzalone, and it appears as if that is what he was flagged for.
The broadcast couldn't believe that it was a penalty on the offense as rules analyst Terry McAulay disagreed on the call. He said that the flag had to have been on the swim move that Ferguson did, which McAulay, a former NFL referee, confirmed was a legal move. The call itself isn't what lost the Cowboys the game, but it came in a crucial spot, and appears to have been a blown call.
AdvertisementAdvertisementAdvertisementCowboys head coach Brian Schottenheimer couldn't believe it.
This article will be updated.
AdvertisementAdvertisement